Home / Who is Who / Who Was The First President of Pakistan

Who Was The First President of Pakistan

Question: Who Was The First President of Pakistan

  • Iskander Mirza
  • liaquat Ali Khan
  • Sir Malik Ghulam
  • Muhammad Ali

Answer: Iskander Mirza

Iskander Mirza Was The First President of Pakistan

Iskander Mirza the first president of Pakistan born on 13 November,1899 in a wealthy and elite family of Bengal. He retained this portfolio from 23 march 1956 to 27 October 1958. He was a descendant of Mir Jafar who is known in the history as quisling. Before president, he also had served the country as defense secretary during liaquat Ali Khan,the then prime minister of Pakistan, tenure.  Because of Playing a crucial role in ousting of Governor-General Sir Malik Ghulam , he was elected as the first President of Pakistan when the first set of Constitution was promulgated in 1956.During his presidency country saw a huge political turmoil .He ousted four prime ministers one after another. All was happened because of his undue interference in civil administration. To control the situation in a dictatorial manner he imposed martial law on country in 1958.It was he who majorly gave a chance to the army to dare to interfere in the political affairs of the country.

In Bombay, he raised up and completed his education. He got commissioned in the army in 16 July, 1920 as 2nd Lt. Soon he was promoted to Lt and was given commands of different ventures. Besides, an army man he was also deployed as political agent of tribal areas and assistant commissioner of Dera Ismail khan, Ohdesa and NWFP and a bit others. It was both his administrative and army leading ventures’ experience that led him to the post of Lt Col and joint defense secretary of British army.

Who Was The First President of Pakistan

Iskander Mirza First President of Pakistan

When first constitution of Pakistan was promulgated in 1956 it was decided to make Pakistan a parliamentarian state with prime minister its executive head and president as ceremonial head of state. First time in the history of Pakistan Governor General was replaced with First president of Pakistan. Iskander Mirza was the first newly elected president of Pakistan. It was Muhammad Ali who was firstly, forced to resign on the demand of Muslim League a party that thence was direct in conflict with iskander Mirza’s Repulican Party.  Shurwardy was the second PM who was invited and forced to resign by Iskander Mirza. The reason behind demanding of his resignation was of the terms of the governing country. Iskander Mirza was not satisfied the way shurawardy administration wanted to govern country. Shurawardy was succeeded by I.I chandrigarh but he was too forced to resign in just two months. So it is all about the Who Was The First President of Pakistan.

Seeing the close connection of Muslim League and Awami league in sharing power against Republic party (belong to Iskander Mirza),he turned against Feroz Khan  government(Muslim League government).He imposed Martial Law on 7 October  1958 on the country ,declaring  Feroz Khan’s government  sick and ill-administered. It is all about the Who Was The First President of Pakistan to gain the accepted mantra. He made General Muhhammad Ayub Khan as chief of army staff and announced that next election would be held just after three weeks. But .unfortunately, no election was held and our beloved country had to suffer from dictator’s rule for the next decade.  He was exiled to London after termination of his presidency and till his death run a hotel to make his both ends meet. He died in 1969 and was buried in Iran. He married twice; first wife was Rifat Begum, she had two son and four daughters and second was Naheed Amirteymour. Who Offered Funeral Prayer of Quaid E Azam

In the last but not least a list of successive presidents has been quoted below in order to provide reader a thorough analysis of political contribution of presidents in the political system of Pakistan.

List of All President of Pakistan

Serial no. Name Tenure Major achievements
1 Muhammad Ayub Khan 27 oct,1958 To 25 march 1969 (1)    Formulation of 1962 constitution

(2)     Contracted Indus –basin treaty

2 Muhammad Yahya Khan 25 march , 1969 To 20 dec , 1971 (1)    First general election in the country were conducted

(2)    Formation of National security council

3 Zulifqar Ali Bhutto 20 dec,1971 To 14 aug 1973  

(1)    Enactment of 1973 constitution

(2)    Separation of Bangladesh

(3)    Brought Karachi Still mill in the country

4 Fazal Elahi Chaudhary 14 aug,1973 To 16 sep,1978 He served the country as president while the Zulafiqar Ali Bhutto was the prime minister of the country. Constitution of 1973 was enacted practically under the leadership of Fazal Elahi
5 Muhammad Zia ul Haq 16 sep 1978 To 17 aug 1988 (1)    Introduced Hadood Ordinance

(2)    Doctrine of necessity of state was used to make legitimate the martial law.

(3)    Formation of Majlis e Shaora

(4)    Completion of Pakistan atomic energy programme

6 Ghulam Ishaq Khan 13  dec,1988 To 18 july,1993 (1)    Disbanded Benazir Bhutto’s Government on the charges of corruption , economic decay and political unrestness

(2)     Using eighteenth amendment in the constitution of Pakistan dismissed Nawaz first government and then Benazir second government.

7 Sardar Farooq Khan Loghari 14 nov,1993 To 2 dec 1997 Vowed to amend the 18th amendment and made a good effort to bring country out of turmoil.
8 Muhammad Rafique Tarar 1 july,1998 To 20 june 2001 He added ,thirteen, fourteen and fifteen amendments to the constitution which finally reduced the executive powers of president  and transferred them to the prime minister
9 General Pervaiz Musharaf 20 july 2001 To 18 aug 2008 (1)    Made country a part of war on terror

(2)    Passing of women empowerment bill

(3)    Issue of lal mosque

(4)    Passing of media freedom bill

10 Asif Ali Zardari 9 sep,2008 To 8 sep 2013 (1)    Abolishment of 18th amendment

(2)    Passing women empowerment bill

(3)    Strengthening of HEC ( Higher education commission)

(4)    Made provinces more autonomous

10 Mamnoon Hussain 9 sep,2013 To date (1)    Passed 20th,21ist amendments in the constitution

(2)    Strengthened Election commission of Pakistan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.